Photobook America Review

coupons and deals groupon deals

Buy One Get One Free Calendars From $9.99

Coupon Code: LSCL15

Deal Expires: 12/31/2017

Same coupon code applicable for Photobook Canada as well!

50% off Wall Decor

Coupon Code: LSCV15

Deal Expires: 12/31/2017

Photobooks from $14.50

Coupon Code: LSPB15

Deal Expires: 12/31/2017

Photo Book Girl Exclusive! 65% off Hardcover Photobooks and Canvas Prints!

Coupon Code: PBGSPECIAL65

Deal Expires: 2/14/2017

*Check out my latest detailed reviews on Photobook America*

Photobook America (Worldwide) Software Review

Don't Miss Tips for Making a Photobook America Book

Photobook America Book Quality Review

Photobook America (Canada) Photo Lustre Paper Review

NEW to digital photo books?
Check out my series of tutorials on
How to make your own digital photo book


Check out my post on FREE photo books - No expiration dates on them!

Also don't forget to look at the Coupons & Deals page.

The best way to not miss any deals is to stay in touch!

Subscribe to my blog via RSS feed
Follow me on Twitter
"Like" me on Facebook
or subscribe to my e-mail newsletter





Click here for all Photo Book Company REVIEWS!

Download Photobook America's free software here.


_____________________


Photobook America is part of Photobook Worldwide - which includes Photobook Australia, Photobook Canada and Photobook Malaysia. The company prints their photo books from two production centers in Canada and Malaysia, so I'm assuming U.S. books will be produced by our neighbors to the north. According to their site, they have a plan for future worldwide photobook domination. (Just embellishing that last part - the site says they are planning to continue expanding worldwide, so good news for us and our international readers!)

I love discovering new photo book companies to add to our list as it increases the choices we have as consumers. I'm currently working on my first Photobook America photo book and I really like the flexibility of the software. (UPDATE: See actual photos of my books at right.) They offer some unique products and some different paper choices. With regard to paper weight and quality, if you're wondering about the gsm to lb. conversion, 170 gsm is roughly equivalent to 115 lb. and 216 gsm is about 146 lb. Most of the companies in the database typically offer 100 lb. paper in their photo books, but note, it's not an exact science comparing different types of paper. My initial thoughts are however that the 216 gsm/146 lb. paper will feel substantially heavier - (b/t/w I have a paper quality post coming up with a comparison of paper types from all the companies I've printed with before.) I'll probably opt for the heavier paper so I can compare it to the 100 lb. normally offered as the standard here in the U.S.

(UPDATE 2/24/11: My book is finished and my paper quality post comparing 12 different photo book companies is up!) Check out how Photobook Worldwide ranks!

The software is both Mac and PC compatible and offers fully customizable layouts and instant two-page spreads so you can stretch a single photo to cover both pages of a layout. Also, you can use any font on your computer - a feature that I love.

Note that page minimums are higher than the typical base 20-page counts you may be used to. Photobook America has a 40-page minimum for their books, so their price points are naturally going to start higher. Hardcovers start at $65.00 for a 40-page 8x6 and go up to $360.00 for an 80-page Professional Series XL Landscape book at a whopping 17.5x12 size. That's the largest photo book size I've seen from any book in the database. Other upscale options include a slip case or presentation box.

Now is the best time to try Photobook America - lately, the company has been marketing their photo books on GROUPON at 70% off. Remember you don't have to live in that city to use the Groupon, however I do recommend that U.S. residents buy U.S. Groupons and Canadian residents buy Canadian city Groupons. If one is available today, you'll see below...



Check out this new feature if you're interested in seeing all photo book and photo related Groupon deals regardless of city.


Click HERE to go to Photobook America's site!

Don't forget to check the main Photobook Deals page for all of today's deals! Bookmark that page or fan me on Facebook and you won't miss out on the latest coupon codes! Save money with the latest Photobook America coupons and deals, or see if there are any Photobook America groupons.


Photobook America Reviews from the Blog

Dec 13, 2015: Photobook America (and Photobook Canada) Lay Flat Giveaway Winners Announced Plus a Huge Discount on Layflat Books
Nov 30, 2015: Photobook America Layflat Review Plus a Cyber Monday Giveaway! (U.S. and Canada - Enter by 12/7/15)
Apr 13, 2014: Photo Book Girl's Best Mother's Day Gifts 2014 - From Cookbooks to Family Trees
May 23, 2013: Top Tips on Making A Pregnancy Photo Book
Feb 1, 2012: Q&A: How to Design the Cover of Your Photobook America Imagewrap Photo Book
May 17, 2011: Photobook America (Canada) Photo Lustre Paper Review
Nov 21, 2010: My Photobook America Review - Part II: Book Quality
Nov 9, 2010: Q&A: Top Tips for Making Great Photo Book Templates and Layouts - My Photobook America Preview
Nov 7, 2010: Photobook America Review - Part I: Software Review and Helpful Tips
Aug 18, 2010: Photobook America Review added to PhotoBookGirl Photo Book Wizard


Quick Specs for Photobook AmericaNew to photo books? Learn the lingo

Book TypeHardcover & Softcover
Book ShapePortrait, Landscape & Square
Types of CoversFull Photo Cover, Linen, Silk, Buckram, Leather
Min/Max PagesDepends on book type: 40 - 300 or 80 - 300
Paper170 gsm (115 lb.) Matte Textured paper, Premium European 170 gsm or 216 gsm (146 lb.) Silk paper, 190 gsm Photo Lustre Paper
BindingSide Stitched w/reinforced spine or Side Stitched w/perfect bind; Lay Flat
Lay FlatYes
Fully Customizable LayoutsYes
ThemesYes
Layouts/TemplatesFull customization plus pre-made layouts
BackgroundsYes
Image as BackgroundYes
Full Photo CoverYes
Customizable SpineYes - photo and title on imagewrap
Full Photo Back CoverYes
Full Page BleedYes; Also auto 2-page spread
Captions/FontsYes - Use any font on your computer
EmbellishmentsYes - frames, masks, clip art
Mac/PCBoth
Download or OnlineDownload
Special Photo ImportingNo
Share OnlineNo
Sell OnlineNo
CollaborationNo
LogoNo
Photo Editing in ProgramRotate, Flip, Crop, B&W, Sepia, Brighten/Contrast, Vignette
Digital Scrapbooking CompatibleYes


Photobook America Photo Books

Thinking about designing a photobook on Photobook America? You can view a detailed chart of every Photobook America photo book, including sizes and pricing. See the full list of Photobook America photo books.



Leave a comment with your own review of Photobook America





Return to all company reviews
go to the photo book wizard